Sharing Settings | Synapse Documentation

Access Control

Synapse has two ways to control who can access your content. Sharing Settings determine who can access content, and is akin to individual or group (team) permissions. Conditions for Use determine how data can be used by those users who have been granted access. All content in Synapse has Sharing Settings but not all content has Conditions for Use. See the Conditions for Use article for information about those settings - this article covers sharing settings only.

Sharing Settings

You can use the Sharing Settings to grant different levels of access to individuals or Teams. Often, users leverage these features to invite people to view or collaborate on a Synapse Project. Here are the kinds of access currently supported:

  • Can view
  • Can download
  • Can edit
  • Can edit & delete
  • Administrator

Sharing Settings can be set for an entire project or for individual files or folders within a project.

There are two primary Sharing settings: Public and Private. The Public sharing setting means that any user on the web can view the content and any registered, logged-in Synapse user can view and download the content. The Private sharing setting limits access and means that only the named users or teams in the sharing setting window can access the content with the access level granted to them. By default, new projects are Private.

Important: Synapse users are responsible for determining the appropriate Sharing Setting for any content they upload into Synapse.

How to Share Projects

To adjust the sharing settings on a project, click the Project Settings button. This will open a window listing the Synapse users who have access to the Project and their roles. When you create a new Project you are the only Synapse user listed in this window, because projects are private by default, and your access level will be Administrator.

Use the Add People feature to add collaborators individually or to add a team of collaborators.

Sharing Files, Folders, and Tables

You can also adjust the sharing settings for Folders, Files, and Tables separately from their parent project. For example, you may wish to keep a particular folder private while you make the project more broadly available, or share drafts of individual files to collaborators privately prior to releasing publicly.

By default, all of the content residing within a project inherits the project sharing settings. However, you can override this inheritance by defining a Local Sharing Setting for that specific content. To do so, visit the content in question (Folder, File, or Table) and click on the Tools menu and then click on the Sharing Setting option for that content (the menu option will be labeled with the type of content, e.g. Folder Sharing Settings or File Sharing Settings, etc.).

When you click on the sharing settings for that content, you’ll see the current (inherited) sharing settings, as well as the option to Create Local Sharing Settings. Once you create the local sharing settings, you’ll be able to change them to be different than the parent project.

Sharing Wikis and Discussion Forums

It is important to note that you cannot set local sharing settings for Wikis and Discussion Forums as these can only inherit the sharing settings from their parent project.

Need More Help?

Try posting a question to our Forum.

Let us know what was unclear or what has not been covered. Reader feedback is key to making the documentation better, so please let us know or open an issue in our Github repository (Sage-Bionetworks/synapseDocs).